I had a dream the other night

And in it, I stepped on the scale and despite all the bad choices I’ve made lately I weighed 270. And it felt so awesome. I couldn’t believe it. I kept stepping off the scale and back on to see if it was true. And for some reason it was. 

I know. 270 isn’t exactly what most people would feel good about, but right now it’s 20 lbs less than where I am now.

It’s been a rough month. Money has been tighter than it’s been in a long time. We’ve been scrimping by on cheap foods. I hadn’t been getting in more than a few veggies or fruits a week and eating high-fat, cheap meats and cheap wheat bread–higher in fat and questionable as to whether it’s even whole wheat.

I was finally able to go to the store Monday and stock up on some essential healthy foods–enough for a week or two.  Hopefully our rough financial patch is over. Or at least it won’t be so bad we are living off the cheap foods anyway. Even if we have to go back I’m just going to have to find a way to cope and limit my portions more and exercise more.

I want to hit that 270 number before the end of the year. It will put me down a total of 54 lbs for the year if I do.  And after waking from that dream, it was just the incentive I needed to get up a little earlier than normal to get a healthy start to the day.

I’ve been refocusing myself the last couple of days. Putting things in perspective. The end of next June is when my driver’s license is up for renewal. I cried the last time I had it done, I was so unhappy with how I looked in that photo. That was almost four years ago and I’m still in the same weight range as I was then, minus around 30-40 lbs. My goal is to get as close as possible to the 175 lbs that my driver’s license has always claimed I weighed–and yet I never have in all the time I have been licensed. That’s nearly 20 years!

I copied my license today, enlarged it, and tonight I’m taping it to the fridge and the inside of my kitchen cabinets. I’m not going to cry when I get my license picture taken next June.

Do you use visuals for motivation to reach your goals? Does it work?

4 responses

  1. I posted a WW soup recipe today that I love – it’s completely healthy/core – and is really cheap to make. It’s on my FB.

    I’d love to weigh what my license says I weigh by my birthday in January. Right now, my sister and I have a race going, whoever loses the most by Christmas treats the other to a pedicure. (15 pounds is our goal.)

  2. Oh that dreaded license. The only thing worse for me is my Costco card photo! Ugh!

    I would say to stay positive. You are down in weight, which is great. I have about 30-40 to lose myself but my weight has not budged in forever. In fact, I’m starting to think it is stuck where it is forever. Keep after it, girl, you’ve got the right mindset. And, I love your new blog concept!

    I’m going to have to go check out Leanne’s recipe too!

  3. I did all sorts of visuals when I started out on SP. My favorite (well, okay, not FAVORITE, but the one that worked the best) was a picture of me with the boys, and it was just awful. Every time I looked at that, I thought, “Never again. I’m not ever going to look like that again.” Visuals WORK.

  4. I think I am going to have to start posting some recipes around here too. I’m certainly open to suggestions from everyone else too. I need all the help I can get finding healthy delicious recipes my whole family will eat.

    That’s tricky.

Leave a Reply

