42

42 is the magic number of the day.  As of this morning, I’m down a total of 42 lbs from my highest weight at the beginning of the year.  I keep saying I’m going to post actual numbers here, so I might as well do it.

As of 10am this morning, when I finally got out of bed to get into the shower, I weighed 282 lbs.  Do your math and you will know my highest weight…and why I’ve harbored a great deal of self-disgust and loathing. 

I’ve been yoyoing back and forth in the 280s since August.  There’s no excuse for it really.  I could have lost another 20+ pounds had I been doing what I know I have to do to lose weight.  No more messing around, cheating here and there.  I’ve just been cheating myself. 

I’m going to get out of the 280s before the end of November–despite Thanksgiving.  There will be no gluttonous overeating for me. 

This will be the first year we don’t go to a big family dinner. We are staying home this year.  My mother just had knee replacement surgery, and gets out of the hospital on Tuesday.  She doesn’t want to go to the big extended family dinner with 30+ people crowded in one house, so we are either going to bring her here–if her doctor will let her–or take dinner to her house, so that she’s not alone on Thanksgiving. 

If she comes here it will be the first time she’s been to our new home since we moved here nearly a year and half ago.  She can be a bit of a hermit sometimes. 

I come by it naturally.

3 responses

  1. Forty two is nothing to sneeze at! Good for you for even trying and being honest with us on top of that.

    Thanksgiving at home when it is a little more simple and intimate can be very rewarding. Enjoy yours this holiday and be well my friend!

  2. Great job on losing so much. I weighed about 250 before I lost the majority of my weight a few years back. I’ve still got a ways to go, but I’m learning that now that I am more “comfortable” with myself.. its getting harder and harder to be motivated.

    I’ve always seen you as extremely strong and I consider it a blessing to have gotten the chance to read about your journey. Hang in there, We all know you can do it!

    As for big family dinners I’ve never been a fan either. I prefer the smaller venues. Looking forward to thanksgiving this year as its just going to be a few of us together for a change.

Leave a Reply

