Early Riser

I am not a morning person.  I never have been.  It’s one of my biggest struggles in this whole journey to become healthier, because I need to be an early riser so that I can get up and start my day right.  I’ve always slept until the last possible moment before I absolutely had to get up to get dressed and eat and out the door.  I never had time in my mornings for an exercise routine and because of that, it often got pushed aside throughout the day and I never got around to it.

Something is changing.  I hope.

Yesterday morning I woke at 5:30am.  I admit I tried to go back to sleep, just like I always have.  But I did something a little different this time.  I promised myself that if I wasn’t back asleep when 6:00am rolled around I would go ahead and get up and start my day.  I would begin without the jabber of young voices demanding and requesting and arguing.  I would do my basic chores, check my email, eat breakfast and see how much of a workout I could finish before they went to school.

So I did.  I laid out their clothes.  I made the preschooler’s lunch.  I ate my breakfast.  I caught up on email and sparkpeople posts and sparkpoints.  I logged my food.  Then I did the 7 day bootcamp workout of the day–which kicked my ass as usual.  I did it all.  And then I did a 3 mile walk away the pounds workout with Leslie Sansone.  While I was doing that the kids began getting up and I directed them to brush their teeth and get dressed and to wake their father so he could help finish getting them ready so the oldest two could make the bus on time.  I only had to send them upstairs twice before he got up and without too much morning grumpiness made them breakfast.

I finished my workout just before they went out to the bus stop.

I did it. I wished I had gotten up when I first woke up at 5:30am to give myself a bit more breathing room to get everything done but I had time to get accomplished what I needed to get accomplished and then I took my youngest to preschool and capped the morning with a 20 minute workout on the elliptical at the YMCA before coming home to shower and get ready for work.

And you know what?  This morning when I woke up at 5:00am I didn’t lay there as long as I did yesterday trying to get back to sleep. I recognized that it wasn’t going to happen and that I might as well get up and start my day.

It’s nice.  The quiet in the morning.  And because I didn’t lay there wishing to go back to sleep like I always have in the past I’ll have plenty of time to do everything I need to do this morning, plus blog about it too.

(cross posted at my sparkpeople blog)

Leave a Reply

