Couch to 5K?

I got it into my head I was gonna try the Couch to 5K walk/running program.  The first day begins with 2 minutes of walking and 1 minute of running–repeat 10 times.  Each day for eight weeks the running increments increase and the walking decreases.

Today was day one.

I managed the first two rounds of walk 2 minutes, run one minute and couldn’t manage to run anymore.  The shin splints were extremely painful and my ankles and knees weren’t feeling too great either.  I was afraid of this.  I’m just too heavy to be running.  

It’s okay.  There was a time in my life (oh…the first 30 years) that I had no interest what so ever in running or becoming a runner.  I’ve never been a runner–I was the slowest in all my classes growing up and it just was so very hard.

But I would like to be a runner..someday.  

For now, I’ll stick to the elliptical and I found out there is a deep water aerobics class on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays that I may try.  There are some other cardio classes and yoga and pilates too.  I’ll keep working towards the running.  But for now, I’m going to take it easy on my ankles, shins and knees.

One response

  1. Running, in my opinion, is WAY overrated. It is horrible on your knees, your boobs, and everything in between. Walking is sooooooo much better for you – just walk briskly and remember to have good posture. So much better on your knees (and boobs)!

Leave a Reply

