Making it Happen

“If it is to be, it’s up to me”

I have to choose to make the changes in my life happen. If I don’t, it will never happen. Today, I will regroup from the holidays and the celebrations and the food. I backslid a bit over the holidays with parties, and family get togethers, and making cookies for Santa. Today, I return to my purpose.

My mom got me a Sportline watch that doubles as a heart rate monitor. It’s not a body bugg–which is what I’d love to have, but I never expected anyone to get me one of those. They are just too expensive. I’m using the watch to monitor my heart rate throughout the day, and it counts calories based on my heart rate and age and gender. I’m not entirely sure how accurate that is, since its not a continuous heart rate monitor and it doesn’t factor in my weight. But I’m grateful for it.

It was a wonderful holiday. We had a white Christmas and were snowed in on Christmas Day. It was nice not to have to rush around to visit the extended families. Instead we spent a lazy day at home with the kids. We made our own Christmas dinner and played in the snow. Then went to visit the inlaws the next day and my mother’s family the day after that.

I really enjoyed the leisurely pace of the holiday. So much less stress. Now I’m ready to turn my attention back to my goals and making myself a healthier person.

Leave a Reply

