Week 10: I’m going to call it maintaining

Last week when I weighed in I was up five or six pounds.  This week I’m right back to where I was the week before and the week before that.  So I’m going on my third week of no further progress in the numbers moving down on the scale.  That means that since January 1st, I’ve lost 8 lbs and since Thanksgiving weekend, I’ve lost a total of 16 lbs.  Not the rate of progress I would like to see–I can do better than this, but all things considered, I’m not going to beat myself up over it.

I dropped that excess weight–whatever it was–from last week, and I’m happy about that.  I haven’t gained.  I’m happy about that too.

Now, I just have to get my momentum moving again. 

We need to go to the grocery store–bad.  Of course, today is super bowl Sunday so who  knows how bad it will be if we try to venture out this afternoon.  Our timing sucks.

Super Bowl isn’t a big deal for us around here.  We mostly just watch  it for the commercials–we aren’t professional football fans. That isn’t to say that my husband may not be tempted to have his sister and brotherinlaw and their kids over (I haven’t heard anything at this p0int in the day yet) and pile on the usual football snack foods.

Whether that happens or not, I’m going to do my best to get refocused today.  Get back to doing what I know works and sticking with it.  There shouldn’t be anything (birthdays, holidays) to side track me again until Spring Break next month–followed  immediately by my daughter’s 7th birthday.  Valentine’s day does present the small temptation of chocolate, but its not a huge deal for us around here, as we just celebrated our anniversary.

I had one chocolate hershey’s kiss last night and didn’t want another–it was so sweet!  I just didn’t enjoy it like I would have in the past.  I’d definitely call that progress.

Yesterday I spent the day cleaning the house.  The kids had pretty much trashed their rooms again since we cleaned them at the first of the year, so I had to ride herd on them cleaning their rooms while I took care of laundry, dishes, vacuuming, mopping, and general cleaning downstairs.  

Today, I’m going to finish getting caught up on some work stuff I brought home, and I’m going to plan out my week and find time for exercise.  I know that half the battle is planning  (the other half is knowing, according to G.I. Joe). 

I just have to do the prep work.

One response

  1. Just stick with it, girl. It will happen. You are doing the right thing, and hey, getting back to where you once were is a great accomplishment! Pounds go on so quickly, but the come off soooooooooo slowly!

Leave a Reply

