Goals

Goals should be realistic–achievable.  If they aren’t, we get discouraged and give up.  I have a hard time keeping my goals realistic sometimes.

In the past, when I was younger, I had a lot of luck with weightloss as long as I did what I was supposed to do.  That was when I was in my 20s.  Losing 75 lbs in 4-5 months is huge.  It’s quite fast at roughly 3.5-4 lbs a week avg loss.  It’s also not realistic.  It’s not even advisable.  I wasn’t cutting too many calories either, my body just responded really well to good nutrition and activity.  I rarely experienced a week with less than a 2 lb loss.  Ever.  That kind of thing raises expectations.

Now, as I’ve gotten further along in my 30s, my body isn’t quite as cooperative as it once was.  It’s definitely more sensitive to sodium levels and hormonal changes.  Some weeks, I stall and don’t lose or if I do lose it might be 1/2 a pound.  That’s hard for someone with my impatient nature to accept, especially when I have so very much to lose.

I’ve tried to think of it in different ways–to put my goals in a more realistic perspective.  2 lbs a week–average loss over time–is still over 100 lbs in a year!  That’s more than acceptable. And it certainly puts me further along to my goal in a year than I would be if I gave up, right?

10 lbs a month.  That would be awesome.  It’s even doable.  And it’s 120 lbs gone in a year’s time.  120 lbs gone by the end of August 2012 would place me under 200 lbs.  Territory I haven’t been in since 1997.  I’m on track to meet that goal with 11.4 lbs gone so far in the month of September and we are just now passed the half-way mark.  I could make it over 15 in this first month alone–a nice jump start on a goal of 10 lbs (0r more) per month.

Honestly, my goals shouldn’t even be about the numbers.  The numbers tie me up in knots.  They get into my head and derail me.  It should be about lifestyle.  Lifestyle change goals are what will make it stick this time.  I have to make my goal to live a healthier lifestyle and in the end that is what will get me further along in my journey, instead of stalled at the side of the road.

Lifestyle goals:

No pop, no diet-soda. Period.  We are made up of water and we are meant to replenish that fluid with more water.  Not chemicals.

Changing how I think about food.  It’s fuel.  And I need to give my body the best sources of energy and vitamins that I can.  That means complex carbs, colorful fruits and veggies, lean proteins.  Less unhealthy fat, less sugar.

More activity.  Building muscle and balance.  Strong and confident.  I want to live an active lifestyle. I want to travel and I can’t do that like I want to if I’m sedentary and so big I can’t fit in an airplane seat or can’t keep up with my family on our adventures.  I’m over those vacations.  No more.  I want to be the one dragging THEM until THEY drop, not the other way around.

It’s not about the numbers.  It’s about the life I want for myself.  My goal is a healthy, active lifestyle.  I can’t get that with fast food, diet-soda, and sitting on the couch.

Leave a Reply

