Finishing what I start: Week 5 7.2 lbs total lost

I am extremely proud that I managed to LOSE 7.2 lbs over the past five weeks–in the midst of the holiday season with parties and baked goodies and all the temptations that go with it.   Many people GAIN that much during this 5 week period of time.  I did not.

I can do this–I can make my goals happen in 2010.

Yes, I could have lost more in 5 weeks. It could have been 10 lbs easily, but the point here is that it’s a loss.  And average loss of 1.44 lbs per week, during the hardest time of the year to lose weight. If I can lose 7.2 lbs at this time of year then I can certainly lose another 7-10 lbs every 5 weeks. That is certainly acceptable–more than acceptable! At that rate of losing, I could be down an additional 28 to 40 lbs by May 23–the day after my husband’s 34th birthday.   That’s weighing in somewhere between 263 and 251.  That’s down one size, maybe even two sizes.  

If I do more, than great–but if not, I’m still making progress and that’s all that matters.  Especially when I think about the lack of progress I’ve made the last several years.  I’ve yoyo-ed for far too long.  It’s time to get that scale moving down towards my goals and maintain those losses.  Not backtrack over and over again.

As I was typing this, I heard a quote from Martina Navratilova. She said that Katherine Hepburn once told her, “It’s not what you do in life, it’s what you finish.”  The universe keeps sending me messages and reminders of what this year is about for me. It’s about finishing what I start. It’s time for me to finish what I’ve started so many times before.

And if I can keep doing what I just did in the pasts 5 weeks, than I will be 73 to 104 lbs closer to my goal by this time next year. That’s weighing between 218 (my wedding weight–10 years ago) and as little as 187 (a weight I’ve never seen in my adult life).

This is my year to make what I finish count in my life.  My weight and my health will improve and I will be much closer to goal than ever before, and I will finish my thesis and get that MA in history that I’ve been working on for so long.

“It’s not what you do in life, it’s what you finish.”

Leave a comment